What is Wrong with This Picture? How Much Did The State of Kentucky Need That Month in Funding?

The Goodbye Meeting
Posted July 15, 2006

When Nothing You Do Seems to Matter
I am submitting my personal story because I want the world to know what is happening to my family and countless other innocent families in Kentucky.

I am the maternal grandmother of five siblings. However, as of July 6, 2006, three of my five grandchildren have been permanently taken from my daughter. The Inspector Generals Office led us to believe they were investigating our case; but after continuously trying to get them to at least acknowledge our inquiries, we ran out of time … this, of course, we believe was the plan to begin with.

We were given false hope when a local news channel took an interest in our story until we saw photographs of the girls on our television screen — which were pictures that I provided to the social workers. The pictures displayed were photographs of the twins at around 4.5 months of age. Viewers were led to believe they were looking at 13-month-old starving twins! It was also erroneously reported that the girls could not sit up or crawl at 13-months of age. Nevertheless, I have recorded video of the girls’ happy, well adjusted, crawling, sitting up, and singing at 10-months-old; but no one would listen to us. No one wanted to hear the truth.

Children Forever Separated
I have the older two siblings but the younger three girls are in foster care and are about to be “adopted-out.” I have no background issues to prevent me from welcoming all five children into my home. As a matter of fact, my home has been evaluated and passed inspection or I would not have been approved for placement of the two older boys, ages eleven and nine.

A foster family has the three girls and a foster grandmother is caring for them. I am not giving up the fight for my grandchildren! I have been fighting the state for three years now to obtain custody of the three girls and will continue to fight this injustice! I am their biological grandmother, the boys and girls need to be together — additionally, I am capable of raising them all.

A social worker and therapist told me yesterday, that they would arrange a “goodbye meeting” between the girls, boys, mom, dad and myself. After this goodbye meeting, we will never be able to see the girls again. The girls are identical twins, age five in September, and their youngest sister will be four-years-old also in September. They are gorgeous girls and any and everyone would love to have these girls, they are cute, young and adoptable! The boys are cute also, but they are older children, ages eleven and nine and not as “adoptable” – Thank Goodness!

My daughter has been falsely accused of neglect. She has a slight learning disability but nothing that would be detrimental to the care of her children. She has a form of Dyslexia. She is threatening a nervous breakdown, as are her five children. The state has done everything to ensure that she will not succeed, but little to nothing in assisting and reuniting her with her children. The state would rather pay strangers $2,500.00 per month and receive state bonuses or incentives rather than do the right thing for this family.

My daughter is poor and therefore has become a prime candidate for the system. The social worker intentionally developed case plans that were practically impossible to follow. Sometimes, two and three meetings were scheduled per day although my daughter has five children to care for!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://avoiceforthevictims.wordpress.com/2009/11/03/what-is-wrong-with-this-picture-how-much-did-the-state-of-kentucky-need-that-month-in-funding/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a heartbreaking and all to true story. I have talked with so many grandparents going through this very thing and they’ve all but given up. I put this on my blog to raise awareness and to give support to those grandparents who are fighting a very corrupt and injust system. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  2. I am so sorry my heart goes out to u my son is in state care says i cant take care of him because i was born with fas hes almost 2 zachary thomas moore


Leave a Reply

